Former councillors

Andy Jennings

Andy was first elected to Greenwich Council in 2006 and stood down in 2010. Andy was chairman of governors at Invicta Primary School, and is a chartered accountant.  Andy was also the Conservative candidate for the Greenwich and Lewisham constituency in the 2008 GLA elections. 

In May 2011, Andy elected as Councillor for the St Neots Eaton Socon ward on Huntingdonshire District Council.

Adam Thomas

Adam Thomas served as a Conservative councillor Eltham South from 2010 to 2014.  He has lived in the area for a number of years, and as a local school governor has campaigned to ensure the council properly supports our local schools and allows them to be as successful as possible. He has also worked hard to ensure that our environment, in particular our green spaces, is properly maintained.

Neil Dickinson

Neil served as Conservative councillor for Coldharbour & New Eltham ward between 2010 and 2014, aftering having worked in the area for over 20 years as an NHS dentist. While on the council, Neil served on the Greenwich Area Planning Committee, various Licensing sub-committees, the Safer & Stronger Communities Scrutiny Panel and the Social Inclusion Scrutiny Panel.

Alex Wilson

Alex served as a Conservative councillor Blackheath Westcombe ward from 2006 to 2014, including a spell as Deputy Leader of the Opposition. Alex has lived in Blackheath Westcombe since he was a child. He went to Halstow Primary School and then he moved to John Roan Secondary School where he studied for his GCSE's. For his A Levels Alex moved to Colfe's School.

Elizabeth Truss

Elizabeth was elected to Greenwich Council in 2006, representing Eltham South ward, and stood down in 2010. In May 2010 Elizabeth became the MP for South West Norfolk. She is currently an Education Minister.

Chris Taylor

Chris was first elected to Greenwich Council in 2002 and stood down in 2010, and he is a policy advisor at the London Assembly. From May 2010 to May 2014 Chris served as a Conservative Councillor for Colyers ward in the London Borough of Bexley, also serving as a Cabinet Member.

Dermot Poston

Dermot was first elected to Greenwich Council in 1968, and stepped down from the council after a long and distinguished career in public service before the 2014 elections. Dermot was awarded an MBE in 2013 and the Freedom of the Borough in 2014.

Peter King

Peter was first elected to Greenwich Council in 1978 but stood down from the Council in 2010.  Peter was the only ever Councillor for Palace Ward in Eltham and had a long and distinguished career as Leader of the Opposition from the 1980s through to 2004.  Peter returned to the front bench as Deputy Leader from 2006 to 2009.

Peter was the Chairman of the Greenwich Conservative Federation until May 2011 and has lost none of his ability to provoke argument over the years including taking a firmly pro-AV stance during the recent referendum.

Graeme Coombes

Graeme was elected to Greenwich Council during 2006-2010. Graeme is Conference Director and Head of Division for an international exhibitions and events company.  In May 2011, one year after losing his seat in Greenwich, Graeme was elected to Bedford Borough Council for Wilshamstead Ward.

Subscribe to RSS - Former councillors